“My Girl” by Jack Jordan

“My Girl” by Jack Jordan

Publication Date: July 8, 2016

It seems that having the word “girl” in the title is the norm for summer books. After reading “Gone Girl” “The Girl on the Train” “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”, etc. it is becoming a bit old.  But this is hardly the only reason that I give a two out of five-star rating for this book.  The beginning of the story has so much potential.  The reader meets a broken down, middle-aged woman living in a fog of drug and alcohol abuse.  We learn that her teenage daughter was kidnapped and considered murdered and that years later her husband committed suicide. The author paints the perfect picture of a woman understandably on the brink of suicide.  I was hooked.  And then I wasn’t.

I knew the story-line was a mystery thriller so I was not surprised when our heroine (during her few moments of daily clarity) starts noticing strange happenings in her home. The major reason for my less than stellar rating is that the protagonist goes through so many far-fetched and often physically abusive encounters that I felt that I was reading an R rated version of “The Perils of Pauline.” In other words, there were so many shocking moments that I ceased to be shocked; I just wanted to get to the end of the book.   This is a shame because the novel starts off with a bang.  It ends in a whimper.

2 thoughts on ““My Girl” by Jack Jordan

Leave a Reply

