“The Girl Before” by J.P. Delaney

Pub. Date:  January 24,2017       the-girl-before

Publisher:   Random House Publishing Group

The house in this story makes for a perfect Halloween tale, which is when I read this book.  It is narrated by two women.  They both (at different times) move into what the real estate agents call a “minimalist” house.  And, both have a relationship with the control freak architect who designed the house.

What the women also have in common is that they have recently survived an ordeal causing them to think irrationally, which might explain why they would even consider leasing this house.   The application is absurdly long and personal.  There is an endless list of ridiculous rules such as no rugs, no curtains, no artwork, no books, and no additional kitchenware or furniture.  To enhance the strangeness the house is digitally wired to meet all one’s needs.  The renters wear a wristband that automatically manages the house lights, the stove, the bath water temperature, and everything else you can think of, really creepy.

The theory behind the “minimalist” house is supposedly the less clutter one lives in the less complex one’s existence becomes leading to a healthier person, yea right.  So the question becomes, who is crazier the male architect or the female residents?  I didn’t think the writing was superior, but the story has some nice twists that will keep you guessing.  I’m not sure if I would have enjoyed the book if I was in the mood for something more substantial, but I found this to be a good read on a cold Hallows’ Eve.  My main criticism is that I am so tired of psychological thrillers using the word “girl” in the title.  I do hope this fad ends soon.

Find all my reviews at https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/4793025-martie-nees-record?shelf=read

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““The Girl Before” by J.P. Delaney

  1. Great review! I just got this on Netgalley and I had passed it by because I was boycotting any book titles with ‘girl’ in the title…I’m so tired of it and really I have yet to come across one i’ve really enjoyed that much. I changed my mind on this one after Abby at Crime by the Book was raving about it. You’re review sounds like perhaps it’s good but maybe not great? I like getting a different view

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

