“The Proud Bastards: One Marine’s Journey from Parris Island through the Hell of Vietnam” by E.Michael Helms

Full Review.

Leave Me Alone I Am Reading and Reviewing

proud bastardsThis is a coming of age memoir of a young soldier that was written twenty years ago.  The author, E. Michael Helms, was kind enough to send me an e-copy while also sending me another one of his book’s, “Deadly Spirits” for review.  In “Proud Bastards,” we follow Helms from his brutal experiences during boot camp to the unspeakable acts of violence he witnessed in combat.   I have never read a memoir about Vietnam before, so even though I had heard of the horrors I was still often shocked reading (and mentally seeing the pictures in my mind) of a Marine grunt’s experience of life and death inside a foxhole.  The book begins with an 18-year-old Helms, joining the Marines with John Wayne glory in his eyes.  As a mother, I found the brutality of boot camp difficult to read.  The recruits are immediately thrust into the stressful whirlwind of…

View original post 454 more words

Leave a Reply

