“The Emancipation of Veronica McAllister” by Shawn Inmon

Genre:  FantasyThe Emancipation of Veronica
Publisher:   CreateSpace Independent Publishing
Pub.  May 2018

This is the fifth book in the Middle Falls Time Travel Series.  Still, it is a standalone read.  This reviewer didn’t know that the novel was part of a series until after finishing the book.  The story begins in 2018 when the protagonist, 80-year-old Veronica, is on her deathbed.  She is ready to die.   As she breathes her last breath she is anxious to learn the answers to the question we all wonder about—what happens after death?  Is there a heaven?  Is there a hell?  Or will it be an eternity of nothingness?  Once dead, Veronica opens her eyes, to see that she is back in 1958 and is a teenager again, wearing a poodle skirt and apparently babysitting.  The author does a good job with her complete confusion and excitement at seeing her old friends and parents again.  “Oh, Daddy, you’re so young and handsome,” she says.  Often you may think of the comedy-drama film, Peggy Sue Got Married.

But the story theme isn’t really about time travel.  The author is asking the question, What If you could live your life over and over again until you got it right?  What would you do differently not to duplicate your mistakes made in each life?   Not an original thought but an interesting one, especially when you imagine yourself in such a situation. Where the story begins to become a bit tiresome is after Veronica’s second or third life. Each time she dies, she wakes up as a teenager at the same babysitting job.  Until she finally learns her own personal meaning of self-actualization, she and the reader are stuck in a purgatory-like, Groundhog Day existence.  If the author would have stayed with keeping his protagonist to a one do-over life, while adding in anything new to the theme, this may have been an interesting tale regarding the nature of changing oneself kept light with humor.  Instead, it can read as a bit preachy—neither marriage nor money guarantees happiness— time-loop redemption tale.  The novel is too cliché to encourage this reviewer to read the first four in the series.   This may not be the case for other readers who enjoy when characters get to stop the clock and start over again.  You will have to read the book yourself to decide.

Purchase on Amazon

I received this Advance Review Copy (ARC) novel from the publisher at no cost in exchange for an honest review.

Find all my book reviews at:

Barnes & Noble
Amazon Books



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.